United Steelworkers union announces new president, other executive appointments

Thursday, 30 May 2019 21:29:52 (GMT+3)   |   San Diego

The United Steelworkers (USW) union announced changes in its leadership as a result of a series of retirements, including USW International President Leo W. Gerard, Secretary-Treasurer Stan Johnson and Vice Presidents Carol Landry and Jon Geenen.

The union's International Executive Board (IEB) passed a resolution approving the plan and the transition, which will take place between now and mid-July when the changes become effective.  

Gerard will be replaced by USW International Vice President Tom Conway, who has been USW Vice President since 2005. He began his career as a millwright at Bethlehem Steel in 1978, and served as a staff representative and as the secretary of the USW's Basic Steel Conference. He has also chaired many of the union's major sector negotiations in steel, mining, aluminum, tire and rubber, oil, and other metals and manufacturing operations.

Conway's position as Vice President will be filled by District 1 Director David McCall, who first joined the union's international executive board in 1998. USW Secretary-Treasurer Stan Johnson will be replaced by District 4 Director John Shinn, who currently serves as the director of USW District 4, which encompasses the Northeast corridor states and New England, as well as Puerto Rico.

Additionally, Roxanne Brown will take over for International Vice President at Large Carol Landry, and International Vice President Jon Geenen will be replaced by Leeann Foster.

Most Recent Related Articles

US import HDG still holding steady

Some Izmir-based Turkish mills further reduce ship scrap purchase prices

CEBID: Turkish steel pipe output expected to increase in 2020

Japan's new ship export orders fall in 2019

Domestic rebar prices in Taiwan - week 4